Gavin Maclure's Musings

My take on politics locally, nationally and internationally

Goodbye 2012, Hello 2013

Leave a comment

Highlight: My beautiful wife on her Graduation Day in October

2012 was a year of ups and downs. Great Britain showed in Danny Boyle’s superb Olympics opening ceremony that we brought industrialisation to the world in the 19th Century and invented the World Wide Web in the 20th Century. Where we are now in the 21st Century is another matter altogether but I am optimistic great times lie ahead.

The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee were one of my highlights. In particular, the Thames Pageant was a spectacular feast I will never forget. The Queen represents duty and self-sacrifice like no other head of state on Earth. We Brits are truly blessed to have Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II as our Monarch. 
Whilst Her Majesty shows poise and leadership in droves, her politicians were a let down once again at local and national level. We were reminded only a few days ago with the release of the Top Secret Thatcher Files under the 30-year rule what true political leadership looks like. Baroness Thatcher was ousted from office by the “wets” 22 years ago and still she has not been replaced by a Prime Minister who comes anywhere close to her calibre. Britain has been in decline ever since with growth only secured through personal and public debt.
The rise of UKIP shows people are desperate for a political party which represents the broader country rather than the metropolitan London-centric fashionable fads of the day. If David Cameron continues on his course of government, with the yellow peril pulling at his ankles, he will take the prize for the first Conservative Party leader who LOST two general elections in a row. It seems I am not alone in my view.
For me, the two greatest highlights of 2012 were my first wedding anniversary back in May and Tanya’s Graduation Day in October when she received her Bachelor of Arts with Honours in English. My wife is my rock who always supports me in the good and bad times. There have been a fair few bad events this year, mainly related to having to deal with infantile and unreasonable people, but it is Tanya who always provides a steady steer to keep our lives on a better path. I am always grateful to her.
I hope you have enjoyed reading my posts as much as I did writing them. May I wish all my readers a happy and peaceful new year.
Author: gavinmaclure

IT professional; political blogger, former Conservative councillor

Leave a Reply

